Wooster Team, 11 Student-Athletes Recognized by NFHCA for Academic Achievement

Lauren Abbott
Lauren Abbott

NFHCA Div. III National Team Academic Award Honorees | NFHCA Div. III Scholars of Distinction Honorees | NFHCA Div. III National Academic Squad Honorees

The College of Wooster field hockey team collected an impressive awards haul from the National Field Hockey Coaches Association for its academic achievement during the fall semester, as the Fighting Scots earned the National Team Academic Award for the 13th time over the last 14 years, and 11 student-athletes earned individual accolades. The awards were announced in a series of releases by the coaches association over the last week.

First-year Katie Harvey, sophomore Grace O'Leary, first-year Sammi Pavlecic, and junior Rose Taylor headlined the individual accolades by earning Scholars of Distinction honors. The NFHCA's most prestigious individual academic accolade is accorded to those with a cumulative 3.90 GPA through the first semester of the 2017-18 school year.

Wooster's quartet were joined on the National Academic Squad by senior Lauren Abbott, sophomore Emma Hambright, first-year Kristina Miesel, first-year Caitlyn O'Connor, junior Katie Padavick, first-year Katie Shideler, and sophomore Harriet Sudduth. National Academic Squad membership is extended to student-athletes who maintain a minimum 3.30 cumulative GPA or higher through the first semester of the 2017-18 academic year.

Of note, Abbott ended her career as a four-year member of the National Academic Squad.

Teams must turn in a collective GPA of 3.00 for the fall semester to qualify for the National Team Academic Award.